“Squid Game” Makes History at SAG Awards

Netflix’s Squid Game was one of the biggest winners at the 28th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards (SAG), which was held on February 27 to honor the year’s best television and film performances.

Squid Game made history as the first non-English language series, and the first Korean series to win SAG Awards.

Nominated for four awards, Squid Game walked away with three, including Outstanding Performances by a Stunt Ensemble in a TV Series. Lee Jung Jae and Jung Ho Yeon each won for Outstanding Performance by an Actor and Actress in a Drama Series. They are the first Asian artistes to win these accolades in the drama series category.

Although losing out from the Golden Globes Award, Lee Jung Jae he beat out strong competition including Jeremy Strong from Succession to win his SAG award. When the results were announced, Lee Jung Jae was visibly excited and seemed at a loss for words. He took to the stage to share his speech in Korean, “Oh my! Thank you so much. This is truly huge. I wrote something, but I don’t think I have time to read it. Thank you so much, SAG Awards. Thank you to the global audience for all of your love for Squid Game, and thank you to the crew of Squid Game!”

Lee Jung Jae’s Acceptance Speech

Jung Ho Yeon’s Acceptance Speech

Source: On.cc

This article is written by Kiki for JayneStars.com.

Related Articles